The Prayer

I like to think that it’s you

The one who positions the stars

A friend who looks after me

No matter where it is you are

My daily disciplined ritual 

Is to tell you through my mind

How genuinely grateful I am

For every opportunity that I find

Teach me a lot of things

Help me when I get stuck

I promise to learn from mistakes

Lessons that I shall not unlearn

I know that maybe sometimes

You might have no option

But let things go wrong for me 

Work out in the wrong direction

And even though my loyal friend

I don’t worship your statue 
I hope that you are well aware

Of the faith that I have in you

I know that you have kept

Good surprises for me in store

Happiness which I know

Lies at the other side of that shore

I shall swim

I shall strive

I know I will always have you

Right by my side

I want you to hold on to

Hold on to my small hand

Together we shall live our lives

As happy as we can

Please accept my prayer

It’s the best that I can do

Apart from all acts of kindness

That I shall continue like you

5 thoughts on “The Prayer

Leave a comment