The ‘Oops! I am so sorry’ moment.

Recently, my friend and I, we went to the college canteen to grab a cold drink. A lanky fair-skinned tall guy was standing very close to one of the stalls. Almost behind it. My friend politely requested him to give her a bottle of cola. Little did she know, that he was a student and did not work there. He was just fooling around near that stall.
The moment he revealed that, her hand flew to her mouth and a river of apologies started to flow.
‘Oops! I am so sorry!’
His friends who were standing nearby burst out in fits of laughter and so did we.

I’m sure that never in life will that guy stand so close to a canteen stall again.

Tip- Don’t try too hard to look cool. Such a backfire will leave your face red like tomatoes.

Well, these mistaken identity situations are very common.

I, myself, have walked into a shoe store and approached a man wearing black for a pair of shoes.
Turned out that he was a customer and i instantly apologised.
(Well, technically it wasn’t my fault because all the employees there wore black).
It was an unlucky coincidence for that guy I guess.

Tip- Wearing plain tee-shirts can be misleading for other people. Avoid.

This reminds me of the movie Confessions of A Shopaholic. In it, the leading protagonist, Rebecca Bloomwood gets mistaken for a waitress at a party because of wearing a similar dress by mistake.

Barack Obama was mistaken as a waiter and was told to get a drink at a party.

I genuinely respect those who respond politely and feel afraid of those who give a ‘you shall incur the wrath of Jesus for commiting this sin’ look.

I wonder if these ‘mistaken for staff’ people curse innocent people like me before they fall asleep at night.

Is saying sorry enough?

No idea. Let me know if you do.

One thought on “The ‘Oops! I am so sorry’ moment.

  1. auroraaustralist says:

    I have been misunderstood as a sales attendant myself. I was pretty polite as the lady was old but even if she wasnt I wasnt going to give a stink eye to the person. Usually in such situations its embarrassing for both the people.

    Like

Leave a comment